On behalf of the Government of the Republic of Malta, duly represented by the Ministry for Foreign and European Affairs and Trade, H.E. Marisa Farrugia, Ambassador of Malta to Poland, signed an agreement for a financial contribution to the Auschwitz & Birkenau Foundation to support its educational activities. The Embassy expressed its appreciation to the Auschwitz & Birkenau Foundation for its efforts to preserve the memory of the victims of Auschwitz. This donation is a sign of solidarity towards the Foundation, and a testament of Malta’s commitment to the fight against antisemitism. Malta will continue to fully support the prevention and elimination of all forms of racism, xenophobia, and related intolerance. The adoption of Malta’s Anti-Racism Strategy in 2021, with the aim of confronting and eliminating racism in all its forms and stimulating and supporting intercultural inclusion, is a step in this direction. 

An agreement between the Government of the Republic of Malta and the Auschwitz & Birkenau Foundation was drawn in Warsaw on 3rd February 2023 and signed by Ambassador Farrugia, Dr Piotr M.A. Cywiński, President of the Foundation, and Mr Wojciech Soczewica, Director-General of the Foundation. The funding by the Maltese government will be used for educational programmes on the site of the Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum, and will allow Museum visitors, school audiences from European countries, to explore interactively and under the guidance of authorized guides-educators the history of the former concentration and extermination camp Auschwitz-Birkenau. The Foundation was established in 2009 and its objective is to create a Perpetual Fund which will finance conservation work and preservation of all authentic remains of the former Nazi German Auschwitz concentration and extermination camp.

27th January is designated by the United Nations General Assembly as International Holocaust Remembrance Day. For the signing of the agreement, Ambassador Marisa Farrugia was accompanied by Mr. Shaun Chircop Troisi, First Secretary.